Steadfast.

I am back after a hiatus, and here’s a poem that I have written as an ode to my mother. I am of the opinion that the best learning in life comes from observing people living the message they want to send out to the world, and from my mother I have learnt steadfastness. Steadfastness that manifests as digging your heels in and standing tall when the storm comes, as being fiercely loyal to an idea or a person knowing that your belief in an ideal is all that matters and the clarity with which you hold onto it is the only warmth and encouragement you will ever get and it had better be all you need if you want to make any headway.

I have no reason to lose form now. Here’s the poem.

I bit my lips and held my tongue.

I told myself, be strong for it is time to let go.

I sang myself a lullaby but the silence wailed too loud.

Invisible arms seem to spring outward into a hug, but all I found were my knees-

I clutched them close. I must keep warm and strive for balance.

In loneliness I must find the silver chord of solitude. Of peace. Of solace.

And perhaps the soul’s own companionship, if that’s to be the case.

So I took down my boots and began work on wiring the fence,

Knot by knot, I tied it up even when they pierced through my fingers and made them bleed.

Step out I can only if I might choose to. And choose I shall, only if I felt that bold-

and always, definitely, far away from the crowds.

For in them and in their expressions, I see faces that wandered away from me,

And I await their wits to come into the know.

For those faces and smiles, as the air I breathe, are that which give me life through the function of my lungs.

Leave a Reply

