Decisions, decisions

To whom shall I hire myself out? What beast should I adore? What holy image is attacked? What hearts shall I break? What lies should I uphold? In what blood tread?

Rather steer clear of the law.- The hard life, simple brutishness,- to lift with withered fist the coffin’s lid, to sit, to suffocate. And thus no old age, no dangers: terror is not French.

– Ah! I am so utterly forsaken that to any divine image whatsoever, I offer my impulses toward perfection.

O my abnegation, O my marvelous charity! here below, however!

De profundis, Domine, what a fool I am!

– Translation of Une Saison en Enfer, Arthur Rimbaud

Katabasis is Metamorphosis.

One thought on “Decisions, decisions

  1. Pingback: Lessons we’ve learnt. | Risk-taking. Soul-sailing.

Leave a Reply

