I suppose, I watch TV now.

You know, I could make one of those memes, cause I don’t usually watch TV, but when I do, I watch… ‘Girls’. How cliched is that name right? Sometimes, when I tell another person that the only TV show that I watch is Lena Dunham’s ‘Girls’, I can literally see judgment in their eyes as it is being formed. That really cracks me up, but I’m glad that the writers of the show (which is primarily Dunham, I believe) did not care to come up with an uptight, existential-sounding name that sells a show to great expectations, only to jump plenty of shark and mislead the audience into a sort of primetime limbo-like funk, all while treating their brains like monkeymeat. πŸ˜€

The reason I watch ‘Girls’ is because it makes sense to me, Β and makes me laugh like a maniac, all at the same time. I have only come as far as the second episode of the latest season, and I already felt the need to come on here and blog. This has got to be my most favourite episode, thus far. Here’s why-

When Soshanna and Adam are the diner-

Sosh: What’s your favourite utensill?

Adam <after some banter and explanation>: A fork.

Sosh: That is crazy. Why would you want a cold, metal prong stabbing you in the tongue, when instead you could have food delivered into your mouth on, like, a cool, soft pillowy cloud.

Adam (after a pause, to obviously digest and express his bewilderment): What did you just say…?

[Take note of the holes on Adam’s tee. He’s broke and living off an allowance from his grandmother.]

Can I be honest with you? I can relate to Sosh on every level. People just look at you like you’re crazy simply because they don’t follow the thought-process behind some of the things that you vocally express. That’s them being naive. And why wouldn’t anyone not have given any thought to what their favourite utensil is? Isn’t that more important than giving thought to frivolous things like what their favourite colour or TV show is?! (FYI: πŸ˜› )

And then there’s that older guy at the rehab that Jessa’s bonding with (and from the previous two seasons, possibly trying to hit on, because of her ‘daddy’ issues), who says- “Poor thing. You’re too young to understand which thoughts are useless to you. When you’re older your mind learns to let go of things that don’t suit you. You start to live with the same ignorance as the very young. Of course being young is terrifying as well. You have all the knowledge, but none of the language (!!) to dissuade yourself from the horrible truths of the world. I have the utmost sympathy for my daughter. I did everything I could to make the world a less gargantuan place for her.” To which Jessa pipes in with a remark about he doesn’t even talk to her, and he says, “That’s just one of the ways that I protect her.” I won’t dwell on it too much, but that was profound.

How is everybody else even making do with any other show? Maybe when I am older, I would rubbish my taste for ever having indulged in this show to the point of excluding every other, but right now, its portrayal of dysfunctionality helps me make so much sense of how the world and its people are. Β o.O

Leave a Reply

