Of prophets and soft drinks

I had this rather profoundly hilarious conversation with someone on campus over lunch today. They were telling me about all the seemingly false prophets that inundate our world from time-to-time.

So, I asked him what he thought of the Dalai Lama. From my past experience, I have noticed that even those who come across as most atheistic (well, Buddhism doesn’t insist you believe in a God anyway) and/or nihilistic have nothing quite dissing to say. The man makes jokes and says be good to people- what’s wrong with that, right? So you could imagine the loudness of my laughter (y’all know about that one already, right? ๐Ÿ˜› ) when my friend shook his head and said, “I don’t see any difference between Dalai Lama and Coca Cola.”

Well, I have racked my brains since the afternoon on how to be more wordy about why I found that hilarious (he gave me his reasons for his choice of the metaphor and I’d say that I agree with them despite the hilarity), but I have declared that quest futile. It just is! I’ll leave you to your interpretations with these photographs (Psst..! Click on them to go to interesting, possibly funny places on the internet- quite SFW, if you’re worried).

One thought on “Of prophets and soft drinks

  1. Pingback: Really. Just count your blessings. | Risk-taking. Soul-sailing.

Leave a Reply

