I’m declaring my freedom today.

Everyday, I set aside some time and ask myself if I am truly happy. Even if there is a single pea pod under my mattress, I probe myself about why it is bothering me at all. So today, I declared that this whole journey toward finding freedom is just a sham. I declared myself free in that very moment. There was nothing confining me. Not a soul that could claim ownership over my own. I am free from unhappiness. I am free from the sort of desire that I have no desire for. I am free from imbalances and co-dependency. Nothing can bother me, affect me, or push me off the rails. I am not going to be an old person lamenting over the past or yearning for my youth. If I have any ambition, it is that.

β€œI’ve lived out my melancholy youth. I don’t give a fuck anymore what’s behind me, or what’s ahead of me. I’m healthy. Incurably healthy. No sorrows, no regrets. No past, no future. The present is enough for me. Day by day. Today!” – Henry Miller, Tropic of Cancer.

Yup, that sums it up!

Mandatory Calvin and Hobbes imagery about being carefree.

3 thoughts on “I’m declaring my freedom today.

  1. Pingback: What is the experiment? | Risk-taking. Soul-sailing.

  2. Pingback: Day 10: Be towards yourself, and that you will be towards others | Risk-taking. Soul-sailing.

  3. Pingback: Unintentional stereotyping in Psychology Tests- I | Risk-taking. Soul-sailing.

Leave a Reply

